Entertainment, Uncategorized

My Oscar Picks

The big event is only six days away and I think I am more excited about it then I was last year. I try to watch as many Oscar movies as possible and I was pretty proud of myself with how many I got to see. It has been a pretty good year for movies. Out of everything I saw, Up was definitely my favorite. There are a lot of good movies and actors competing against each other this year and for months it has been a tight race. There hasn’t been an Oscars like this in a while. Here are my choices for the major categories.

 

Best Motion Picture of the Year: 

Avatar (2009)

The Blind Side (2009)

District 9 (2009)

 An Education (2009)

The Hurt Locker (2008)

Iglorious Basterds (2009)

Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)

A Serious Man (2009)

Up (2009)

Up in the Air (2009/I)

My choice:

The Hurt Locker. I do not want Avatar to win. Yes the effects were good, but the story has been done before. The Hurt Locker had a good story and it is real. It recognizes the people who are normally invisible, in this case the men who risk their lives everyday being in charge of the EOD squad in Iraq. It is suspenseful and emotional and it makes you think. It also has some good acting in it by Jeremy Renner. I usually don’t like to watch war movies, but this one was worth it. 

 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role 

Jeff Bridges for Crazy Heart (2009)

George Clooney for Up in the Air (2009/I)

Colin Firth for A Single Man (2009)

Morgan Freeman for Invictus (2009)

Jeremy Renner for The Hurt Locker (2008)

My choice:

Jeff Bridges, hands down. I loved this movie. When I walked out of the theatre I thought “why is this not nominated for Best Picture?” Jeremy Renner and George Clooney did a good job too and I have not seen the others, but I don’t have too. Jeff Bridges played his character so well and his singing was great.

 

 Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role 

Sandra Bullock for The Blind Side (2009)

Helen Mirren for The Last Station (2009)

Carey Mulligan for An Education (2009)

Gabourey Sidibe for Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)

Meryl Streep for Julie & Julia (2009)

My choice:

Sandra Bullock.  It has come down to Sandra and Meryl. I really liked Meryl Streep in Julie and Julia, but Sandra Bullock did a really good job as Leigh Anne Tuohy. I do not agree that the Blindside is best picture material, but I do agree that Sandra Bullock is best actress material.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role 

Matt Damon for Invictus (2009)

Woody Harrelson for The Messenger (2009/I)

Christopher Plummer for The Last Station (2009)

Stanley Tucci for The Lovely Bones (2009)

Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds (2009)

My choice:

Christoph Waltz. Great movie, great character. His character of Colonel Hans Landa is someone who you love to hate and he did such a good job of keeping it that way the whole movie.

 

 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role 

Penélope Cruz for Nine (2009)

Vera Farmiga for Up in the Air (2009/I)

Maggie Gyllenhaal for Crazy Heart (2009)

Anna Kendrick for Up in the Air (2009/I)

Mo’Nique for Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)

My choice:

Anna Kendrick. I know MoNique is going to win, but I loved Anna Kendrick in Up in the Air. She was one of my favorite things about the movie. She plays her naïve character Natalie with the right amount of emotion and conviction. I think she will have a good career outside of Twilight.

 

 Best Achievement in Directing: 

Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker (2008)

James Cameron for Avatar (2009)

Lee Daniels for Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)

Jason Reitman for Up in the Air (2009/I)

Quentin Tarantino for Inglourious Basterds (2009)

My choice:

Kathryn Bigelow. Yes I would like to see a woman win. And also because it was a fantastic movie.

 

 

 

 

Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen

The Hurt Locker (2008)

Inglourious Basterds (2009)

The Messenger (2009/I)

A Serious Man (2009)

Up (2009)

My choice:

Inglorious Basterds. This is a tough race since Hurt Locker and Up are also good movies, but I would like for Tarantino to take this award home.

 

 

 

 

Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published 

District 9 (2009)

 An Education (2009)

In the Loop (2009)

Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)

 Up in the Air (2009/I)

My choice:

Up in the Air. Out of the nominees I only saw Up in the Air and District 9. Up in the Air was a movie that you either hated it or loved it and I loved it so I am going to root for it.

 

 

 

Best Animated Feature Film of the Year

Coraline (2009)

Fantastic Mr. Fox (2009)

The Princess and the Frog (2009)

The Secret of Kells (2009)

Up (2009)

My choice:

UP. LOVED this movie. It won’t win best picture but it should for best animated feature. Just the first ten minutes of the movie shows why.

 

1 thought on “My Oscar Picks”

Leave a Reply

