Entertainment

Entertainment: looking back on summer, looking ahead to fall

I love this time of year. Everything changes colors, various pumpkin foods can be found to eat, football starts, the new TV season is upon us and it means that the movie season is back. It definitely was a bummer summer for movies and the blockbusters didn’t really live up to their potential. Iron Man 2 was not as good as the first, Eclipse (just like the rest of the Twilight movies) was not as good as the book, MacGruber was terrible, Knight and Day was odd. My list of summer movies I liked isn’t very long with Inception, Robin Hood, the A-Team and the Other Guys making the cut.

Let down by season 3

Even summer TV was a let down. I waited nine months for True Blood and even though it started off good, it lost its spark. The storylines went everywhere, they took characters places that weren’t normal for those characters and there were some really pointless scenes in some of the episodes. I am a HUGE fan of Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire Mysteries series and even though it is hard to separate the books from the show, season 1 had the excitement of the novels. The characters were all involved in the same storyline and not going in different directions. This can not be said about season three. I will stay true and watch next summer, only because they are going to do one of my favorite storylines, but they better step it up.

Back to movies, after skimming the release calendar there are some fall and winter releases that look worthy enough for a $10 ticket.

The Town

September 17 – “The Town”

Starting off the fall movie season is “The Town” with Ben Affleck, Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, Blake Lively and Rebecca Hall. Adapted from the novel “Prince of Thieves” by Chuck Hogan, the movie follows Doug (Ben Affleck), a thief from Charlestown, Massachusetts, the armored-car robbery capital of the world. Renner plays his friend Jem who is in on the heist, Hamm is the FBI agent trying to catch them, Hall plays a woman who they take hostage during a robbery and Lively is Krista, Jem’s sister, who is in love with Doug. This is a choice for the book club this month and after reading it, the plot was what I expected it to be. It reminded me a little of “The Departed”. I couldn’t get boston accents out of my head and could perfectly see Renner as Jem. With Affleck at the directors chair, “The Town” looks promising. His last movie “Gone Baby Gone” was a good movie and this one I don’t think will disappoint either.

The Social Network

October 1 – “The Social Network”

There is already some Oscar talk for the movie about the founding of Facebook.  The movie centers around the founder, Mark Zuckerberg (played by Jesse Eisenberg from “Zombieland”) and the controversy that surrounded the creation of Facebook. I think what I find this movie appealing is the story, mainly because I don’t know it. The trailer is pretty good, but then again it could turn out to be one of those movies that is bad, but the trailer is good.

Red

October 15 – “Red”

Bruce Willis, Mary Louise-Parker, Helen Mirren, John Malkovich, Karl Urban and Morgan Freeman, this is the cast of “Red”. How could you not want to watch a movie with these people in it? I for one would definitely like to see a movie where Helen Mirren shoots stuff up. Karl Urban is not bad to look at either. “Red” looks like it could be a fun movie.

Due Date

November 5 – “Due Date”

Starring Robert Downey Jr and Zach Galifianakis, “Due Date” follows Peter (Downey) a father to be that has to hitch a ride with Ethan (Galifianakis). Both actors are funny (Galifianakis was the best thing about “The Hangover”) and the movie comes from Todd Phillips, director of “Old School” and “The Hangover.”

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

November 19 – “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I”

This is a movie that I have been anticipated since I turned the last page in the book.  Being a faithful Potter reader, I have been very back and forth about the films. The first one I absolutely loved and it really captured the magic of the series. The biggest let down so far was “Goblet of Fire” due to the fact that it felt rushed and they couldn’t put some of the important parts in it since the book was pretty long. In “Half Blood Prince” they added a scene that was completely  unnecessary! I could write a whole blog about the movies, but I won’t because it won’t change them. I just have to cross my fingers that the two last Potter movies, and the most important ones, are going to be up to par. The one thing that I like already is that they have put this in two parts, the book has way too much detail to leave anything out and cram it into one movie. I am glad that the director decided to be faithful to the fans and is going to put everything into the movie that he can from the books. Just from the scenes shown at Comic-Con and from the trailer, the important parts are not going to be left out. Definitely hitting the midnight showing for this.

Tron: Legacy

December 17 – “Tron: Legacy”

I haven’t been too much into 3D films, but I feel that “Tron” is one that must be watched in 3D and the scenes at Comic-Con that were showed sold me on it. Jeff Bridges is back as Kevin Flynn and joining him this time is Garrett Hedlund as Flynn’s son Sam who gets zapped into the game, Olivia Wilde as Qurroa, a warrior and Michael Sheen as Castor, the villain of the movie who wants to stop Sam from leaving the game.

This isn’t really a big list, but these movies were the ones that stood out to me the most and are movies I would pay to go see. Find a complete theatrical release calendar here for the rest of the year. Anything else that should be added to the “must see” list?

Leave a Reply

