life, travel

Nerd/Travel Bucket List Update

It has been a while, a LONG while, since my last post and I have to say that I miss writing. My free lance didn’t turn out how I had hoped, but I have been wanting to get back to doing it for myself for a while now. First up, re-visiting my Nerd Bucket List  and my Travel Bucket List. A few years ago I wrote these lists with the determination of trying to accomplish as many things as I could, but had some setbacks with my health right after I wrote both. For the past few years I have tried to get back to accomplishing things on both of these lists and I think it is time to get back to writing about them!

So one of the nerd bucket list items that I have managed to do since writing the list was #6, travel to Oahu and see some of the Lost filming sites. It wasn’t quite the tour I had wanted to take, but it was still satisfying. My aunt and I took the movie tour of the Kualoa Ranch, not just where Lost was filmed but also movies such as Pearl Harbor, 50 First Dates, Godzilla and You, Me and Dupree. Kualoa Ranch is one of the most amazing  places I have been. It sits right off the ocean and the views of the mountains are amazing. On the tour you get to take a bus through the valley and stop at some of the movie locations. There is also a World War II bunker that now houses the submarine from Lost and various pictures/posters from the movies/TV shows that have been filmed in the area. The highlight of the tour was seeing Hurley’s golf course and the pond where the submarine scenes were filmed on Lost. It was such a great trip and it definitely made me love Hawaii even more than I already did!

532322_10152246843090158_1869288995_n
Kualoa Ranch pond

#5 on my nerd bucket list, meet more celebrities, is the other list item that I have also kept up on. I have been to San Diego Comic Con and Emerald City Comic Con a few times in the past five years and have managed to meet some more people from my favorite movies and TV shows. Some highlights have been meeting Karl Urban, Stephen Amell and some of my favorite S.H.I.E.L.D agents, Brett Dalton, Elizabeth Henstridge and Ming Na Wen. In June, my best friends and I are traveled to Philadelphia to Wizard World Comic Con to see some of the cast of The Avengers.  I still can’t even believe that my best friend and I got to stand next to Chris Hemsworth and Chris Evans!  When we were talking about going, I felt like it was a crazy decision to go all that way to talk to them for probably ten seconds, but then I thought that life is short and this is what we want to do. So we canceled everything we had booked in Seattle for ECCC and booked everything in Philadelphia in a matter of days! It turned out to be an amazing trip! We spent a day and a half exploring the city, then another day at the con. Yes, it was only about 30 seconds standing with the Chris'(which I was too nervous to even look at them!), but I had the best time with my best friends in an amazing city.

img_20160603_183653
City Hall, one of the coolest buildings in Philadelphia.

For my travel bucket list, since 2012 I have been to Oahu, took a road trip to Vancouver BC, been on two more California/SDCC trips, had a 30th birthday celebration in Vegas, explored parts of Colorado with my other best friend, went on an adventure to Lake Havasu, AZ with my mom complete with side trips to the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam and this year I made it to the northeast, not only to Philadelphia, but split a week between Cape Cod and New York. I am hoping that in the near future will be a trip to D.C. and I never stop dreaming about New Zealand and Europe! Hopefully when my finances get a little better, that dream will become a reality.

IMG_1511
Staying at The Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, CO, has been a highlight of my travels.

So that is what I have been doing since my last post and I am okay with it. Life does not always go the way you expect it to, but I believe that it is better to make the most out of it. I am definitely grateful to be able to do the things I enjoy most and spend time with the people that I care about. Traveling has been what makes me happy so here is to more exploring the world and to more writing about it!

Leave a Reply

